Now Reading
Prime Minister Imran Khan wins the Vote of Confidence

Prime Minister Imran Khan wins the Vote of Confidence

Prime Minister Imran Khan

Prime Minister Imran Khan Saturday sailed through the vote of confidence from the national assembly, after getting 178 votes, only two days after his party lost a crucial seat in the Senate election.

The opposition alliance chose to stay away from the process and watched the proceedings from the Sindh House. The joint eleven-party alliance under the banner of the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) won a general seat for the Senate for former Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani against the ruling party candidate, Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh, with a five-vote victory.

Imran Khan required 172 votes to win the confidence vote in the 342-member house. The ruling coalition had 181 members but after the resignation of one of Faisal Vawda, the number strength dropped to 180, while the opposition coalition has 160 members in the house.

Speaker National Assembly announced the result and said Imran Khan became the Prime Minister of Pakistan after securing 176 votes in August 2018, “MashAllah today he has got 178 votes,” as the House erupted in slogans and jubilation by the members who shouted slogans “Prime Minister Imran Khan”.

Prime Minister Imran Khan arrived at the National Assembly before the commencement of the 30th session. The proceedings began with the recitation from the Holy Quran, and the national anthem was played. Speaker Asad Qaiser chaired the session. This is the first time that a prime minister has gone for a vote of confidence after the passage of the 18th Amendment.

Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi tabled a resolution in the House, and the Speaker read out the details of the process for the members. Bells were rung for five minutes and the Speaker read out the Resolution, triggering a long thumping of the desks.

The five-vote victory in the capital’s Senate election brought the defining moment in the otherwise battle of narratives going on for months between the government and the PDM.

Shah Mahmood Qureshi reading out the resolution for vote of confidence in the National Assembly. Source: APP

The Resolution:

“That this House reposes confidence in the Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Mr. Imran Khan, as required under clause (7) of Article 91 of the Constitution Islamic Republic of Pakistan.”

The Prime Minister took the vote of confidence under Article 91 (7) of the Constitution of Pakistan.Article 91 (7) of Constitution of Pakistan

Source: APP

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure

© 2021 The Pakistan Diaries. All Rights Reserved.

Scroll To Top